101 - 200 of 239

Oahu vacation reviews

Hale Maluhia at Lanikai Beach

  • It was great. We loved the location the look. Everything was great. I give it a 5

, Pomona, KS3.11.14

Kakela Kai - 4BR Home

  • 5 star location 3 star house. Furnishings were worn and not clean, bed room lamps a joke but the beds were good. BBQ was terrible. Wifi did not work all the time. Great location. Locked out of the house because all the keys didn't work. Agent was very responsive in letting us back in but the keys were never replaced. Overall things worked out but it did not meet our expectations.

, Calgary, AB3.8.14

Mahi Mahi Hale - 3BR Home

  • We really enjoyed our vacation this Valentine's Long Weekend. We would definitely come back and choose this rental in the future. My kids enjoyed the poi pond and the views are calm and relaxing.

, Daly City, CA3.3.14

Beachside Villa - 4BR Home Ocean View

  • Loved the location and layout of the Beachside Villa! Perfect for two families. Loved the pool and jacuzzi, too. If I could change anything, I would upgrade the BBQ. The front burners were out and the baffles on the back were broken. We would also have preferred a bit softer mattress. Both master mattresses were rock hard. The pool remote was also a bit challenging to work with. These were just minor things. Overall, a great vacation home.

, Sunnyvale, CA2.22.14

Beachside Villa - 4BR Home Ocean View

  • This is a beautiful 4 bedroom house, just a short drive from town, and just steps from the beach, we stayed 7 days and had a great time, the kitchen is well outfitted, and the beach chairs/towels/kids play toys were a nice addition, the hot tub warms up quickly, and the pool is nice, sun worshipping is best done at the beach since the pool/tub take up most of the yard, the property manager was terrific in settling us in, and I'd have no problem renting again

, Burien, WA2.18.14

Lanikai Beach Bungalow - 4BR Home + Private Pool

  • Best views ever. Everything about this home and location was terrific. Would and will recommend to family and friends.

2.15.14

Beachside Villa - 4BR Home Ocean View

  • Great home and we look forward to our next vacation to this beautiful well appointed home. We had a wonderful vacation. Aloha

2.15.14

Waialua Retreat

  • We had a great time. The house was perfect with hot tub, kayaks, bicycles. We saw turtles and spent most of the time in the water. We hope to be back again

, Georgetown, ON2.8.14

Hale Maluhia at Lanikai Beach

  • We loved the place and it exceeded our expectation. The place is awesome and great for a family vacation, all details are well thought off and it's very comfortable and we'll be back there.

, Malibu, CA1.12.14

Makana's Place

  • The unit was fantastic. The owners clearly have thought through almost every detail one could possibly need or imagine. The unit was spotless and comfortable. Super close to shops and easy drive to beach as advertised. We would definitly stay here again and will recommend it to friends and family who visit the island as will our in-laws who live on the island. The only thing that I was not full satisified with was the booking took more effort on my part then necessary as I had to contact the agent a few times to get a response and the posting did not make it clear that the unit is a one bedroom unit. It does have an option for a second or third room to be added but this was not clear to me from the posting or my conversations with the agent.

12.17.13

Honu Hale Studio

  • The apartment was very nice. We loved the pool and the fish pond. It was very clean, although we did have the company of a giant cockroach one evening. Thank Goodness my man was with me... Lol. Property manager was AMAZING! We will be back!

, Calgary, AB12.16.13

Bay Front Kohola Hale - 9BR Estate

  • The main house and grounds were gorgeous! Beautiful view of the sunrise and sunset on the water. The main house was very nice and elegant. The kitchen was a joy to work in and held our entire party for meals. The downside was that the "caretaker" left her young son to take care of things while she was out of the country and that became a major problem as the dishwasher was not working the first night of our week long stay. The Jacuzzi did not heat up at all and both of these were not fixed the entire time. The 3 bedroom home on the property has a master bedroom but without the bathroom attached. The second bedroom in the home has an air conditioner and cools the room sufficiently, but there is an decorative opening above the door and you can hear everything in the house. The third bedroom does not have an AC unit which made several nights very humid and warm to sleep. There were other smaller issues too, but overall not bad.

, Morgan Hill, CA10.18.13

Beachside Villa - 4BR Home Ocean View

  • Perfect Hawaii Vacation! We had an incredible family vacation at your lovely home. The house is exactly as the pictures show. Very private and comfortable but close to shopping, the beach, everything you need. Beautifully decorated and clean. The ocean view from the lanai upstairs is spectacular. The beach down is down a small path right out the front of the house. We will definitely come back again.

, Sacramento, CA9.26.13

Lanikai Beach Bungalow - 4BR Home + Private Pool

  • We enjoyed our vacation and this home. Being oceanfront was an amazing experience. We were able to view sightings of sea turtles right from the beachside deck, enjoy the morning sunrises, and launch kayaks from here. Location is just beautifull and we had lots of privacy. We were very happy with our rental and would recommend this home to others. Guest services were really great to work. Thank you for helping us make our vacation a success.

, Stanford, CA8.31.13

Honu Hale Studio

  • My wife and I wanted a private and low key vacation which we got by staying at the "Honu Hale Studio" Secluded in a residential area it afforded us privacy and luxury. I would recommend it for those who wish to "get away" from the hubbub of tourist traps. Well kept and clean. The kitchen and shower were fantastic. The view was superb overlooking the bay, the fish pond and the Eastern sunrise. Our hosts, live on the property but we never saw them. They were terrific with local lore and places to visit when we needed it but otherwise left us alone to explore and relax. A big bonus for us was feeding the fish in the fishpond. Nice!

, Gilbert, AZ8.30.13

Mahi Mahi Hale - 3BR Home

  • loved the property. was an exceptional vacation experience. hope to come back again soon.

, Mission Viejo, CA8.27.13

Honu Hale Studio

  • our visit to your property was outstanding. hope to come back again in the near future.

, Mission Viejo, CA8.27.13

Makana's Place

  • Great place at a great value with every accommodation you need to feel at home. The booking process was flawless and I would use their service again. House is roomy and uncluttered. I would definitely recommend this to anyone. For a small family of 4 all you need is the main house. You have the option to upgrade to an extra 2 bedrooms with kitchenette of its own. We were confused as the doors to this extension was unlocked and I though I had the whole unit to myself. Eventually the landlord was informed and we had it locked. To clarify this is a residential home in a nice area with locals. The backyard was converted into a rental property so you park on the side and are staying in a well built and private granny unit. You don't really need to interact with the owners but they are there if you really need something. Otherwise just relax and go out and have fun at the best beach on the island a quick drive away. Whole Foods and Safeway and many restaurants are only a mile away. Food is nearly twice the price compared to the mainland so having a kitchen helps lower cost of dining out. I couldn't imagine staying at a hotel when gems like this are available in uncrowded areas.

, Rohnert Park, CA8.19.13

Bay Front Kohola Hale - 9BR Estate

  • Overall the place was fantastic. The large main house and the kitchen accommodated our large crowd. We cooked many of the nights and it was great to have 2 grills there. We loved being able to have breakfast out on the patio with the rising sun. Jennifer (the owner) was so sweet and very helpful. Only a few suggestions - invest a few more kitchen towels. We were washing the few that were there daily. The screen doors in the studio apt. were difficult to open and close. And we did kill a few roaches while there, although I understand they are common in Hawaii. Otherwise I would highly recommend this property to anyone with a large group. Thank you again for helping me with the booking! Janet Lander

, Lucinda, PA7.30.13

Lanikai Beach Bungalow - 4BR Home + Private Pool

  • My apologies for the late review but we've been traveling ever since. The Lanikai Beach Bungalow made our vacation to Oahu just amazing. Being able to wake up in the morning to the sunrises right there with the Mokulua Islands in view was just breath taking. We loved the home and the layout and most of all the privacy we had from the oceanside lawn. Thanks again for making out stay a wonderful time. We look forward to coming back and will difinitely let u know.

7.14.13

Beachside Villa - 4BR Home Ocean View

  • The Beachside Villa was beautiful, well maintained and supplied. We were within 100 feet of the ocean. Everything but food was there: plenty of towels, dishes, water toys etc. It was great to have two washers and dryers. The pool was smaller then it looked in the ad but quite adequate. The hot tub was great. We had trouble with the sliding door and the rental management handled it immediately. The house was clean and well maintained. We were very satisfied with the rental and would recommend it to our friends. Besides enjoying the house, pool, beach and ocean, we would like others to be sure to see Pearl Harbor, the Polynesian Cultural Center and Hilo Hatties for goodies to take home.

, Berea, OH7.5.13

Lanikai Beach Bungalow - 4BR Home + Private Pool

  • This beach house is a dream! Love, love love this place. Great location in a very nice neighborhood. My husband and I along with some friends stayed at this house for 5 days and we all never wanted to leave. It's a very warm and cozy place. Not the most modern in terms of looks but has a whole lot of flavor to it. It also has pretty much everything you need. The lady who checked us in was very accommodating and she sure made us feel right at home. If you are looking for a home away from home, this is it!

, Alexandria, VA6.26.13

Beachside Villa - 4BR Home Ocean View

  • The house was great...very well kept and a very nice house. The folks running the house were very responsive and took care of us...would definitely recommend!

, Suwanee, GA6.17.13

Bay Front Kohola Hale - 9BR Estate

  • We had a wonderful time and the property was beautiful. The family who owns the property was helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay again.

, Portland, OR3.30.13

Lanikai Beach Bungalow - 4BR Home + Private Pool

  • I could not have asked for a better vacation home! The house comes with all the amenities needed, so all that was necessary was a trip to the market to stock the fridge! I was also provided with a list of restaurants, shops, markets, etc. for everything else, so there was no need to look up places to eat or where to rent kayaks! The location was perfect. Watching the sunrise and hearing the ocean waves splash against the lapping wall while I had morning tea was a nice way to start the day! The house literally sits on the oceanfront and enjoyed walking alongside the beach right from the backyard. The water and views are absolutely beautiful! There really was no need to leave the house when you have the best views in Hawaii! Thank you for the amazing service! I was greeted at the house and was provided everything I needed. Any questions were taken care of immediately after a phone call or text. They made sure I had the best possible experience during our stay. Many thanks to the agency and Hawaii for the perfect home... Definitely would love to be a guest again! Aloha & Mahalo!

, Rochester, NY3.26.13

Makana's Place

  • The place is very nice and clean and roomy for 4 of us ladies. It's close to everything that we need. It's not on the busy road which is nice. And the AC is great. I will rent it again in the future. Highly recommended. I love everything about Hawaii.

, Kent, WA3.9.13

Honu Hale Studio

  • We were in awe the moment we stepped on to the property. The view is absolutely stunning! You have the pool and jucuzzi right outside your door. The studio is beautiful ;perfect for 2 people. The bathroom is amazing and the shower is awesome. You have everything you need for an amazing stay. The property is clean and nicely decorated. The king size bed is quite comfy. The only thing I would add would be a few baking pans, baking sheets and hot pads to the kitchen. Other than that this property is "PERFECT"! I would definitely stay here again and recommend this to friends and family.

, Harrisonville, MO2.17.13

Hale Maluhia at Lanikai Beach

  • The house was a very comfortable, lovely home and our service was excellent. The house was clean, however there are a few things that should be taken care of in the master bedroom/bathroom: ants (or some kind of bug) in the master bathroom, saggy mattress in the master bedroom, and sticky bedroom door (hard to open). Other than these items, we were very happy with the rental. Mahalo!

, Seattle, WA2.17.13

Mahi Mahi Hale - 3BR Home

  • We had an enjoyable time....beautiful setting; from the beautiful palms and plants, the walkway to the gazebo out in the lagoon and the pretty view from the pool. Then there's the varieties of fish in the pond & lagoon to watch...peaceful. If there is a downside, it's that the main living area is a bit of a fishbowl, one would not want to open all the drapes. However, the cross ventilation was good and the view out the back is very nice. Our booking agent was very helpful, especially when rentals were at a premium. I travel to Hawaii on business and have to book at the last moment. We would book here again in Kaneohe. Kaneohe area is a lot more laid back to stay than in busy Waikiki.

, Gillies Bay, BC2.11.13

Waialua Retreat

  • The pictures for this rental do not do the place justice. It is by far the best place we have stayed. The view and access to the beach is phenomenal and the view of the mountains in the front is awesome. I have never had access to all the extras this place provides...hot tub, kayaks, full range of beach supplies, and so much more. The house itself is beautiful and the open layout is perfect for a beach home. Definitely recommend it.

, Geneva, FL2.1.13

Lanikai Beach Bungalow - 4BR Home + Private Pool

  • The overall quality of the rental was excellent and we'd love to go back. The property is well maintained, spacious and clean. The interior is older (some of the nearby houses looked more modern), but the furniture is contemporary and the space functions really well. The communal spaces provide a lot of opportunity to relax, enjoy the weather and one another's company. The outdoor spaces made it easy to hit the beach, go kayaking or snorkeling. We were traveling with an infant and found the space ideal for a multi-generational trip (grandparents, adults and kids). The beds/mattresses were suitable for a good night's rest, but not luxurious. The kitchen is well maintained and had all the pots, pans and dinnerware we needed to prepare meals. The barbecue was a nice touch. The bathrooms were fine. The booking agent/property manager was outstanding. They made arrangements for our kayak and long board rentals, which greatly simplified the trip. They had a high chair and infant bed (pack and play) ready for us on arrival. There were a few small maintenance items (dead batteries, light bulbs, broken toaster) that they took care of right away. Most of our maintenance problems were electrical, which I imagine is a consequence of being at an oceanfront property where the salt, water and electrons don't mix very well (I suspect you'd have the same problems at any oceanfront house). But the property manager seemed on top of things and got things corrected the same day. The house had all the beach gear you'd need to enjoy the trip (chairs, umbrella, towels, straw mats, snorkels, sand toys). It was really well appointed. Beach access is approximately a 5 min walk along the street. At low tide, there was a rocky beach in front of the house and you could potentially walk to the main Lanaki beach via the oceanfront. We were able to put the kayaks in from the back yard. I would definitely recommend Aloha Beach Rentals and this property to anyone seeking a relaxing time in Hawaii. If you want over the top luxury, this isn't the house. But it's perfect for a family looking to spend some quality time in Kailua / Lanakai.

, Iowa City, IA1.7.13

Honu Hale Studio

  • We had an amazing time. Jennifer was a great host and we really enjoyed the property, especially walking around the pond and feeding the fish. Each morning I took pictures of the sunrise, it was unbelievably picturesque . I would definitely recommend staying here.

, Vallejo, CA10.28.12

Lanikai Beach Bungalow - 4BR Home + Private Pool

  • Everything was absolutely amazing! From the moment we arrived, the staff was very helpful and polite. The house was a perfect location with hardly any foot traffic along the beach in the back yard. We swam with the turtles everyday! The best family vacation spot! We are coming back next year! It was great!

, Santa Clarita, CA10.15.12

Waialua Retreat

  • Paradise on the Beach! Best vacation we have had to date! We spent 16 days basking in the sun, kayaking, beachcombing, siteseeing, and just relaxing. The house is beautiful and fully appointed. Can't think of anything that we didn't have at our fingertips. The only thing we needed to make it feel like our own home were our personal photographs. Turtle watching(in the water and on the beach) was so much fun. We even spotted dolphins a few times. Close to Haleiwa for shopping and dining. Recommend Mackie's for shrimp or further out Giovannis. Also The Crouching Lion is a very nice place for a relaxing meal overlooking the ocean. You have to drive a bit to get there but it is worth the trip. The Bahia fish stew was to die for and if you like steamed clams then this is the place. It is hard to put into works all the wonderful things about this fabulous place. We have only been home 2 days and are planning our next trip back to this beautiful home and our little piece of paradise. Beautiful place and everlasting memories!

9.25.12

Bay Front Kohola Hale - 9BR Estate

  • Property was beautiful and spacious for a group of 20. The view was breathtaking but it can get very windy on this side of the island at times. The house decor is a little dated but it was comfortable and reflected the island-style. Friendly property managers, who live on the property, made us feel very welcome. Enjoyed the hawaiian fishing pond, pool, jacuzzi, and fire pit. Parking is sufficient for the advertised 5 car spaces, however, it is a narrow driveway so ingress and egress can sometimes be tricky.

, Vienna, VA9.19.12

Honu Hale Studio

  • This was a lovely setting with lovely hosts. Watch them feed the fish in the ancient fish pond each evening. The separate studio was very large and roomy with a complete kitchen, tv seating area and king bed. Definitely use google to find the location. The directions from Vacation Rental Marketplace were totally incorrect and inaccurate. There are two highway 83s for instance. Take the second one off Route 63 that is also marked Kamehameha Highway. There is no highway 830 as VRM indicated. Would definitely return.

, La MEsa, CA8.20.12

Waialua Retreat

  • This was our family's first visit to Hawaii. The Wailua Retreat was perfect for our family (my husband and I, our daughter and son-in-law and our son). We had plenty of space for the five of us to hang out comfortably as a family but also had our own bedrooms/baths to retreat to for quiet time. The house was equipped with everything you could possibly need during your stay. We were actually surprised at some of the things on hand for our use. We would definitely rent this home again and would also recommend to friends. We spent a day in Waikiki and after seeing how busy the city is, we were so grateful we chose to stay in the quiet area on the North Shore. We loved having the beach literally as the backyard. The highlight of our day would be watching the sea turtles swimming a few feet from the shore. The only thing I negative I can say is a week just wasn't long enough.

, Sapulpa, OK8.6.12

Lanikai Beach Bungalow - 4BR Home + Private Pool

  • We had a fantastic time here - great location, with the sea (and green turtles) just outside, a short walk to either Lanikai or Kailua beaches... and coffee at the Market, and a short drive to Kailua town. The beach-style house is large, clean and comfortable. We appreacited the service and tips from the owner (eg suggestions on a good hike nearby and renting kyaks). Strongly recommended!

, Camperdown7.21.12

Makana's Place

  • Makana's Place was very spacious, clean and comfortable for our family. We would book this rental again.

, American Canyon, CA7.13.12

Waialua Retreat

  • My family and I have rented this architecturally beautiful beach house many times over the years. We are very particuluar about our accommodations, and this house meets all our requirements for comfort and real relaxation. The managers of the house could not be more generous and hospitable. We are always treated as if our returning business truly matters to them. A great find!

6.25.12

Beachside Villa - 4BR Home Ocean View

  • This was a gorgeous house, in an absolutely amazing location. We didn't want to leave. The photos on the site were descriptive, and the house was even better than it looked on the site. We were really looking for a nice place, as close to the beach as possible, that had a nice design sense. This was definitely the place. The pool was great to have as well, as with the kids, and the beach being a bit windy (this is the 'windward' side of Oahu) we couldn't spend all day every day on the beach. Between the beach, relaxing in the house and swimming in the pool, we got exactly what we were looking for. And, Kailua was a great, non-touristy spot with a small downtown, and Whole Foods within a 5 minute drive. We would definitely rent again. The service was very friendly and professional, and made the stay that much more pleasant. The house was very clean when we checked in, and we were very comfortable our entire stay. The only thing I could even think of that could have been better would have been better kitchen accoutrements (pots, pans, dishes, etc were ) to accompany the gorgeous Viking kitchen, but this is a tiny nitpick - we were able to cook great meals here, and that was part of our goal, and part of what we wanted to do on our vacation (relax, cook, eat and go to the beach). Thanks so much for an amazing week - I'm already trying to figure out how we can come back again next year.

, Los Altos, CA5.29.12

Lanikai Beach Bungalow - 4BR Home + Private Pool

  • We had a terrific stay in Lanikai. The bungalow was charming and the location is the best. The customer service was fantastic and I would stay there again the next time i am lucky enough to visit Oahu.

, New York, NY5.15.12

Beachside Villa - 4BR Home Ocean View

  • The home is beautiful and nicely situated, although it is not beachfront and the only view of the ocean is from a window in the master bath. It is actually a 4 bedroom 3 1/2 bath as there are 3 baths upstairs and a half downstairs with an outdoor open shower that is not accessible from the outside only from the bathroom. Overall cleanliness was ok, but was probably not rented recently as there were quite a few dust bunnies floating around and found a cigarette butt on the floor in the t.v. room. The Jacuzzi did not work and they came to fix it the next day, worked while he was there and then when we tried to start it again later, it did not work again. In all fairness we were leaving the next day, so we did not bother to call him again as it was after 9 when we tried to use it. Other than those minor things it was a lovely place to stay.

, Itasca, IL5.14.12

Lanikai Beach Bungalow - 4BR Home + Private Pool

  • Best place to be. Nice beautiful house. Awesome caretaker who accommodates all your needs. So worth it, and we loved everything about it.

, Kailua, HI4.26.12

Makana's Place

  • We recently stayed at Makana's place with our 14 year-old daughter and found the place to be more than adequate. Arrived late at night but instructions for entry were very clear. The common area included a kitchen, dining area, and living room and was very spacious. We had our breakfasts there before heading out to visit with family or going to the beach. It was very comfortable and we could have spent more time there if we did not know anyone in Oahu. Our only complaint was the soft mattress on the bed in the master bedroom. Also, our daughter would have preferred her own space for her bed which was in the common area. The town and beach of Kailua are the nicest on the island, in our view, with lots of options for kayaking, windsurfing and kiteboarding, and we would love to return again.

, Cincinnati, OH4.1.12

Beachside Villa - 4BR Home Ocean View

  • It was a great house to stay in. Everything was perfect and ready when we arrived. From booking the house, to finding it ready to go, being able to ask questions (not that we had many) to check out - everything was great. Thanks!

, San Francisco, CA2.28.12

Lanikai Beach Bungalow - 4BR Home + Private Pool

  • we rentet the Lanikai Beach Bungalow for 11 days. the house was very old, but newly paintet. the whole house was very "used" and the kitchen was too old and we had to call for extra forks, knives and glasses.There were not enough for 8 people!!! . The room with 2 beds was not good. The bathroom was awful, the door could not close. All the windows in all the house alowed the wind to come in!! and it was very, very windy!! We were promised a beach in front of the house. That did not exsist! We had to walk to the big beach, and the reason for why we choose this house was the beach in front, as we had invited our grandsons along, as well as our daughters and son-in-law. The costumer service, we recieved was good but we had to call several times for toiletpaper and we were asked, if we could tidy the house, so people could come see it, as it is for sale!! We refused, of course!! We think if was expensive enough, and it was our vacation, and we did not want to tidy up for that reason. The house is for 8 persons, but there is only 2 beach-chairs, and one was broken! the beach-gear was very old and very used. There was no kajak, so we could go to the islands in front of the house. Last year we rentet an apartment, also in Mokulua Drive, and there was everything, we could use, also bicycles!! The best about the house was the placement, just at oceanfront, and the turtels. The garden was good for the children, and it was closed. Especially our family was not pleased with the house. We had expected something nicer. We think it was very expensive for such an old house, worn out!! No, we will not come back, even if the surroundings are beautiful, and we all love Hawaii so much. We will come back to Hawaii, even if it is a very long trip all the way from Denmark, but we will expect something better for that high price. We could easily have staryed in a 5-star hotel inWaikiki for the same price!! Best regards from us inDenmark, Hanne Andersen

, Copenhagen2.27.12

Mahi Mahi Hale - 3BR Home

  • Beautiful house, gracious proprietors. Fish pond is a quirky, fun thing!

, Oakland, CA2.21.12

Beachside Villa - 4BR Home Ocean View

  • The villa was very luxurious, in a beautiful setting just off one of the best beaches in Oahu. Lori was very helpful and the villa was spotless upon our arrival. The best part of our trip was Hanauma Bay - such a beautiful spot for families.

, Calgary, AB2.19.12

Makana's Place

  • Thank you for letting us staying at your place - it is spacious, comfortable, and close to the beach. Mahalo!

, Walnut Creek, CA2.1.12

Lanikai Beach Bungalow - 4BR Home + Private Pool

  • This is a comfortable home offering incredible oceanfront views in a quiet but charming neighborhood. The location and conveniences of a private residence cannot be compared to any other accommodation. We were very pleased and hope to return again in the future. The host was super congenial and helpful. A very nice and unexpected perk was the Pillbox hike to breathtaking views just up the road, rivaling Diamondhead. Also, Kailua Beach Park is a short walk or run and the towncenter a short drive for all the conveniences of coffee, quaint boutiques, ice cream, and fantastic pancakes at Cinnamon's. Waking up to watch the sun rise over the ocean while drinking hot coffee is something all vacationers to Hawaii should have the pleasure of experiencing. We used a rented kayak and paddleboard and also snorkeled right down the steps leading to the beach from our backyard.

, Hardin, MT1.26.12

Waialua Retreat

  • I have rented many vacation houses over the years and I know that you take a big risk that the actuals won't measure up to the online digitals. At Waialua Retreat, we were delighted to find that the house was better than the descriptions on the internet. We spent Christmas and New Year's at the house - my two sons, their wives and my first grandchild of 2 months. This meant that Nana stayed home babysitting while the others went off on adventures - too many to name across the North Shore and down to Honolulu. Staying back at the house was a joy - looking out at the ocean and all down the North Shore almost to Pipeline or a walk on the long sand beach 12 steps from the back lanai and hot tub. The house is laid out very practically and is bright and inviting. In an era when you can barely get a set of false teeth through airport security, the house is fully equipped with lots of extra little things like flour, sugar, spices, soaps, paper products, flowers, etc. that make it more like a home than a house. The local market is a few minutes away and the town of Haleiwa has everything you need as long as you do it early in the morning before the crowds of tourists arrive. If you want shopping and razmataz, go to Waikiki. If you want R&R and the true wild beauty of Hawaii, go to Waialua.

, Guelph, Ontario1.6.12

Lanikai Beach Bungalow - 4BR Home + Private Pool

  • My family of 7 had a wonderful time in our beach house. The location was fabulous, and it was so homey that you felt it truly was your home. We had wonderful meals in town (Kailua) . . . Best was Baci Bistro -- wonderful Italian!! And best breakfast was at Cinnamons. The only "minuses" were the constant wind, which I guess you need to expect on the "windward side", and also we never seemed to have enough hot water. But they were inconveniences we worked around and overall have only great things to say about the location, the house, and the people. Thanks Lori for checking in on us --- MAHALO!!!!

, Pacific Palisades, CA12.28.11

Kahala Estate Cottage - 2BR Home

  • There were many positives about this rental property. It was clean and well kept. When we had a wi-fi problem the owner was quick to rectify it. The property was in a quiet, lovely, safe location. It was away from the hustle and bustle (and noise) of Waikiki, but just a short drive away from Waikiki and Kahala Mall (which has a Whole Foods that we like to shop at). The short walk to the beach was very pleasant and easy and it was an easy walk to the Kahala Resort for a dinner or drinks out. The kitchen was well supplied with enough cookware for us to make our Thanksgiving dinner with all the fixings. We had a wonderful time.

, Austin, TX12.3.11

Waialua Retreat

  • We stayed over the Thanksgiving holiday. The house was beautiful, well provisioned, nicely furnished, everything there you would want. Lots of great beach stuff - towels, chairs, umbrella, snorkel gear - all nice. Great kayaks with good paddles. House is right on the beach so you can hear the water at night and walk right out your door to the sand. Nice deck with good grill and outdoor dinner table. Jamie, the manager, was nice and helpful. All in all, very good experience.

11.28.11

Beachside Villa - 4BR Home Ocean View

  • I spent many hours trying to pick the perfect place for a long overdue family vacation. I succeeded beyond my wildest expectations!! (No, I'm not really that conceited...it is just a compliment and tribute to this wonderful place in Kailua, on Ohahu's windward shore.). There are so many things to write about, but I will start with the people, because they are the ones who made this so perfect. Lori and Peter, the immediate property managers, were fantastic...every request was met with an immediate response (and there weren't many requests because virtually everything you could possibly want was already "in place" and waiting for us.) We were also lucky enough to meet Kia'aina who is the manager of a number of great properties. He, too, was wonderful to deal with, and the whole management team of Lori, Peter and Kia'aina are the kind of people who you consider to be really good friends, even though you just met them a few days ago. And then there was the house...WOW! Just look at the pictures on the website. These will give you a clue, but you won't really know how wonderful it is until you get there and actually see the place! The kitchen is truly "to die for" with all top line Viking appliances, and everything you need in the way of dishes, utensils, cook ware, dish towels, dishwasher soap, an outdoor propane grill, and even basic condiments (salt, pepper, spices, vinegar, oil, you name it) are provided for you. We did most of our meals in the kitchen and on the grill...7 of us, and we loved it. The rest of the house is equally wonderful. Master bedroom and bath are total luxury, and the bed sleeps like something out of your best ever dream! But wait...then there are the fabulous hot tub and swimming pool. All electronically controlled (you do it with a TV-style remote control) like nothing you--or I--have ever seen before! Oh, and just a few other things...the absolutely beautiful and lush landscaping surrounding the house (which also provides total privacy), and the fact that it is truly only 100 steps from the house to one of the most beautiful and perfect beaches in Hawai'i...think of it---in less than one minute, you've gone from the indoor corner of paradise to the outdoor corner!! We'll be going back again soon! Thanks Lori, Peter and Kia'aina.

, Spotsylvania, VA11.5.11

Mahi Mahi Hale - 3BR Home

  • The Mahi Mahi Hale was beautiful. We were a little surprised when we drove there - thinking that it was a beach house, when it is actually in the town of Kaneohe, but at the waterfront. There is NO beach where you can swim at the house itself, and to get to the nearest beach require a car. We has misunderstood the description of the house there - but as said, it is very beautiful and quiet once you are on the property. I loved sitting on the lanai in the early morning and watch the sun come up. There are shopping a few kilometers from the house - again you need a car. The jacuzzi did not work until the last evening which was a bit disappointing as well. The house has three bedrooms but only one with a kingsize bed. There is one bathroom for the three bedrooms and one bathroom downstairs. We were two couples traveling- so it was not optimal, the house is better suited for a family. The owners are very friendly and helpful.

, Harlev J10.30.11

Honu Hale Studio

  • We had a lovely time at Honu Hale Studio. The view is breathtaking and the fish ponds are amazing. The unit is small but has all the ammenities you need for a short stay. The shower has fantastic water pressure.

, Havre de Grace, MD10.25.11

Waialua Retreat

  • What a great house! There were six of us, three couples and the house is very spacious. We all had our own bathroom, and the rooms are far apart. The first thing is the view, you walk in and it's all glass with ocean in front of you. The lanai was our favorite spot for enjoying coffee in the morning and barbequing at night. My favorite was the private out door shower under the Plumeria tree. I never used the indoor shower! Lots of beach chairs, coolers, boogie boards ect. Three kayaks with life jackets. We kayaked every morning right in front of the house, there is river near by to go up. The North Shore has some of the best beaches in world, with surf and paddle board lessons in town. Great dining all over the island and in the town near by. At night we sat out on the beach at looked at the stars. We can't wait to return. This house had everything we wanted and it's gated so it feels very private. If we had any questions Jamie the manger always got right back to us.

10.12.11

Beachside Villa - 4BR Home Ocean View

  • Aloha The Unit was perfect, the location was excellent, the beach just seconds away from the house, pool, hot tub. The unit was large enough for four couples, big enough and spacious that we all had our own special space. The greeting with Lori and Pete, and the service taken care of with in an hour, was excellent. Beautiful people. The four couples didn't want to leave this area, and the villa. We wished that we would have booked for longer, but, we had a money budget. We just loved our time their. And the Catholic Church just at the end of the street, walking distance. And the welcome we recieved their was perfect. The best thing about my trip was everything. Lori suggested Buzz's restaurant, it was excellent, friendly staff, no reservation they accomadated us, with in 1/2 hr. We took many pictures of the villa, and the beach. Standing on the beach and looking at the scenery, foilage mountains was breath taking. I would rent this villa again anytime. I will share this part of the Island and villa with anyone who asks me. And I will tell my friends. We were told by Lori to go to the Polynesian Culture Center, and Dole Plantation. We were not disapointed. We just were getting use to going, and discovering different little hide aways. If God willing maybe, we will be able to cross paths again. I will send this also to the other couples. I was a lovely time, so much peace. Mahalo

, Ottawa, Ontario10.4.11

Lanikai Beach Bungalow - 4BR Home + Private Pool

  • We loved the Lanikai Beach Bungalow! We really enjoyed the property, and were impressed with everything there it had everything that the family needed for a great holiday. The environment was fantastic (particularly the honu), seeing the moonlight on the water at night was stunning, and the design of the property is perfect for the environment. It's a shame that it all had to come to an end, and am now home!

, Richmond, Victoria9.16.11

Honu Hale Studio

  • Jennifer was a wonderful hostess for our visit. We were fortunate to have the place to ourselves, so the privacy was perfect! The location is unique and the unit was tastefully finished and furnished. We toured the other available units on site and they offer ample space and convenience for larger groups who wish to book the property for things like a family reunion, wedding or other engaged event. The 3 acre fish pond was remarkable and very pleasant to stroll around. We fed the fish and that in itself was an adventure! There are a number of great beaches within a few miles and also for hikers, there are both simple and challenging hikes with beautiful terrain and vistas. Our thanks to Jennifer and her family for making our stay such a memorable one.

, Irving, TX9.8.11

Lanikai Beach Bungalow - 4BR Home + Private Pool

  • 1. We loved the 3 bedrooms and 3 baths attached. My husband loved having the AC for those humid nights. I loved the kitchen, the two common living spaces, and the large dining room table and chairs. The view!!!!!! 2. The customer service was excellent!!! Thank you. 3. The best part of our trip was the beachfront location and the view and sound of the surf right outside the door. 4. The two best restaurants that we found were Cinnamon's and Hy's. 5. The best picture that we took was playing on the beach with our grandchildren and the sea turtles. 6. This was my most relaxing vacation ever. 7. There is a sea wall and steps leading down to the surf. At high tide you cannot go into the ocean outside of the house. You have to walk down a couple of blocks to Lanikai for beach activities. 8. The Lanikai location is spectacular.

, Northridge, CA8.30.11

Beachside Villa - 4BR Home Ocean View

  • Beautiful House in a lovely spot

, Pasadena, Ca8.29.11

Waialua Retreat

  • The house was clean, open, and easy to enjoy. We loved being close to the water and and especially loved spending time in Haleiwa, Waimea Beach, Shark's cove, etc. The Polynesian Culture Center was a great place for the kids. Expensive, but well worth the money. The best place to grab food is at Mackey's. Great shrimp! Jamie was very helpful. Great service. We loved it and can't wait to come back.

, Omaha, NE7.29.11

Beachside Villa - 4BR Home Ocean View

  • The location, the views, the furniture, the kitchen and convenience were the best parts of the unit.. I loved how it was so open. The customer service was EXCELLENT answered all calls, friendly and helpful. The best part of the trip was having a pool and being with family. We did not eat out the kitchen was excellent! The best picture was on Flat Island after we snorkeled to it. I can't wait to tell my friends how beautiful Hawaii is and how great it is to rent a house on the beach there. My advice to someone else staying at this unit would be is to rent it! The part of my trip I would definitely recommend to others is that you can relax but get up to see the beautiful sunrise on the ocean. I didn't have time this trip, but next trip I'm looking forward to kayaking to Mokulua Islands and hiking up Diamondhead. My only single suggestion for the unit would be to get a better coffee pot that includes a thermos and buy some bigger mugs but the rest of the dinnerware was beautiful. I would definitely rent there again!!!

, Clarksville, MD7.26.11

Lanikai Beach Bungalow - 4BR Home + Private Pool

  • Aloha! We had a fabulous trip back home to Kailua and the Lanikai Beach Bungalow was exactly what we all hoped for! It was clean, comfortable and provided the perfect "beachy" atmosphere. Our agents who helped us were simply awesome from beginning to end! We just love them! Mahalo to both of them, from the eight of us who truely left our hearts in Lanikai! We will all be back very soon!

, Bellingham, WA7.25.11

Beachside Villa - 4BR Home Ocean View

  • The house was beautiful, well-designed, well-organized and perfect for relaxing. It's well decorated and appointed - and the distance to the beach truly is just 100 steps. Neighborhood is quiet - but close enough to shops, restaurants, and stores to enjoy activity when you wanted to. The beach is not crowded, fairly private and beautiful. The management company responded very quickly to the only issue we had - and this was a mechanical issue with the pool caused by the previous renters. The management company took care of it very quickly - within 24 hours. The house is fully stocked - especially the kitchen. We enjoyed our visit immensely and would highly recommend this rental! The only improvement I could recommend is having the owners add some additional beach towels to the linen closet. We ran out of beach towels every couple of days. Otherwise, perfect. Aloha!

, Bellaire, Texas7.20.11

Waialua Retreat

  • This was a pretty nice house, but it could be cleaned a bit better. Also, the washer and dryer are not inside the home. You have to walk outside and down the stairs, to do the laundry which was a pain. There is not good swimming in front of the house. It is brown water and VERY rocky. The beach is littered with sticks and wood. The beach is not good at all, the plus side is that you have it all to yourself! We were literally the only ones on the beach, but only because it was a very crappy beach.

, Shakopee, MN7.18.11

Beachside Villa - 4BR Home Ocean View

  • the quality of the home was excellent and the location was in a quiet spot just next to the beach entry, the aircon did not work downstairs and the pool was not heated ,other than that job well done

, Berwick, Victoria6.15.11

Honu Hale Studio

  • A peaceful retreat after traveling around the island all day.

6.1.11

Waialua Retreat

  • Great house in a great location. I'm very pleased. The house was very clean and stocked with everything to make a trip fun and comfortable. This was my fourth time to Hawaii, and the most enjoyable, thanks in large part to the choice of where to stay. I know that lots of Hawaii houses and condos promote their proximity and views of the beach, but this one truly delivers. It literally is a bordering a long sandy beach, albeit rather narrow at high tide. There are plenty of more developed white sandy beaches up and down the north shore, should you crave more excitement. Here are my hot "insider" tips: * The Thai food from the van by the Waialua library is fantastic. The best Thai I've ever had. Order it to go and enjoy it on the deck. * Snorkeling in Shark's Cove, just past Foodland in Haleiwa.

, Las Vegas, NV4.25.11

Mahi Mahi Hale - 3BR Home

  • Setting was gorgeous, owners extremely friendly and responsive. The Koi pond and salt water lagoon are very impressive and add considerably to the enjoyment of the surroundings. House comfortable and airy (kitchen cooking area a little cramped but had everything we needed). Major attractions are close but you feel a lot more like a local staying in Kaneohe rather than the big beach resorts. Great restaurants and beaches nearby. Very hard to leave and head back to the mainland.

, San Diego, CA4.6.11

Honu Hale Studio

  • The Honu Hale studio is a great place to stay while visiting the beautiful island of Oahu. It was so quiet and peaceful, away from the bustle of Waikiki but only a 25 minute drive if you wish to visit there. Kaneohe is a beautiful place and is close to Kailua beach which was one of our favorites. The owners were very friendly and accommodating. We had an amazing trip!

, Prince George, British Columbia2.9.11

Beachside Villa - 4BR Home Ocean View

  • Great place. Well kept. Good staff and help. Loved the home. We would come back again. Thank you.

, Centreville, Virginia1.23.11

Waialua Retreat

  • Hi We loved the house, it was lovely. Full of room for our family of 6 and great proximity to the beach. Great having the fans and the aircon for when it was really hot. Enjoyed using the bbq on the deck and looking at the vista. My highlight was the number of the turtles right at our doorstep. We used the double kayak and paddled round and the boogie boards. For the rest of the family it would have been the surfing lessons at Haleiwa at the local surf shop. They all managed to catch quite a few waves and now think they are surfing champions. Best restaurant for us was Jamesons which was quite near the surf shop and we popping in there after the surfing lessons for a couple of Mai Tais and dinner. Loved the gift shop in there too. When we come back to Hawaii we still have lots to do, didn't make it to Pearl Harbour or the local falls. Spent most of the time R&R and enjoying the spa pool too. Quite liked popping into Waikiki too which isn't that far as the Ali Moana Beach Park is beautiful and the beach there is very safe and close to beautiful Hanauma Bay with its great snorkelling even after a bit of a tropical storm the water was still clear. Loved the blowhole too just past Hanauma with the fantastic rock formations. Loved staying away from the hustle and bustle of Honolulu and enjoying the quiet tranquility of Waialua and enjoyed browsing the souvenier shops and art. Also loved the red box at the supermarket where you could rent DVD's for just $1... Couple of things about the house. The spa pool wasn't working all the time but the property manager was great and it took a couple of days to fix but someone came in straight away when they were notified. Also it would have been great to have a CD player as we couldn't have any music going at all, not even a radio. Also we couldn't get the TV going in the lounge but the bedroom TV was going. We missed the rubbish day etc as didn't see the welcome book when we arrived which was next to the phone (we don't really use the phone when we are on holiday) in a far corner of the house. So didn't see the welcome book for the first few days. Maybe that could be left on the kitchen counter for when you first arrive. Thanks very much for the great stay!

, Auckland 2571, NZ1.16.11

Honu Hale Studio

  • Honu Hale is like a hidden gem. The surrounding neighborhood is typical of Oahu; narrow streets, old homes with carports, and lots of vehicles and trash cans. Once you are on the Honu Hale property, it's like being in an entirely new setting at the water's edge. The owners take pride in their place and after you experience it, you won't want to any place else on the island. Waking up to beautiful sunrises behind Kaneohe Bay, enjoying the tranquility of sitting in the gazebo at the end of the dock jutting into the giant Hawaiian pond, feeding the huge fish in the Hawiian pond or the freshwater pond above, and soaking in a jacuzzi under a star-lit were my favorite experiences there. The friends and family who visited us were raving about the place and asked how I discovered it.

, Anchorage, AK1.10.11

Waialua Retreat

  • We loved this place! First...Location..location..location.. ON THE WATER (snorkeling off the beach not so good though - some stormy seas etc.) but sea turtles were around. AWESOME North Shore spot. Close to Haleiwa town - great restaurants and shops, plus busy beach. Very local feel though which was what we wanted. Then short hop to great hiking, golfing, etc. - why stay anywhere else?? Had never been to North Shore, but we will be back. You can golf in the morning, hike in the afternoon and get a massage in the evening (we did!). OH, and there's a great bike path on Wailua Beach Road that runs for about 2 miles..great for morning wlaks, running or biking..great views of the mountains and you get to see lots of local architecture. We missed the Waimea Canyon but we will get there next year! Second...HOUSE WAS GREAT - huge bedrooms, kitchen and living space. 100% view of ocean all day from inside (grat windows) and from the lanai - just what we wanted. It rained a few days but the lanai kept us dry so we could eat outside. Quiet residential cul de sac was private and restful. AND THE TOYS! Snorkel equipment, paddles and kayak, chairs and beach booties - felt like my house. Even an extra tank of propane! KITCHEN was well stocked and ready to go - would have liked a baking pan for brownies though! PS Best insider tip: shrimp trucks beyond Turtle Bay - Rommy's is the best. PPS 2nd best insider tip: watch the moon rise from the house's lanai. Awesome. This was the best house we have ever rented anywhere in the world. OK, it's on the North Shore beach so it has an advantage there...but it really did feel like home. Thanks to the owners and the Management Service. We honestly had EVERYTHING we needed! We talked about booking now for next year!

, Cupertino, California12.27.10

Waialua Retreat

  • The home is absolutely wonderful with all the necessities we needed. We had plenty of room and enjoyed the spectacular view of the ocean and sea turtles.

, Phoenix, Arizona6.29.10

Hale Maluhia at Lanikai Beach

  • This is an amazing home, without a doubt the best one I have ever rented. Simply but elegantly decorated, and full of all the amenities you could ask for. It is obvious that the home is well-cared for by all the details. The back of the house area is absolutely spectacular, fit for entertaining or even better, just some lovely quiet time. The location across from the beach is perfect, barely a two minute walk. I would highly recommend Hale Maluhia, and look forward to returning someday.

, Chicago, IL2.19.10

Portlock Paradise - 3+BR Home

  • Everything was great. Eve was very responsive. The home was a little dated but well appointed and perfect for our family reunion. Nice pool. Everything we needed. Great location. It should not take 60 days to return a security deposit.

, Carson City, Nevada1.6.10

Waialua Retreat

  • We enjoyed our stay in this rental. We had lived in Oahu 20 years ago and it sure changed. The rental was great, everything you need to enjoy your stay. The kids were able to snorkel out and see the turtles just a few feet off of the shore. They really enjoyed it. This part of the island is the way things used to be in Hawaii, if you are trying to decide on this rental, you won't be disappointed. We will definitely return to this rental should it be available in the future. Mahalo from St. Louis

, Troy, Missouri1.4.10

Waialua Retreat

  • Everything was excellent...just no champagne glasses!!! we will be coming back for sure...I need to change expiry date on my visa card to process refund..pls contact when you can!!! cheers Maggie

, Uki, New South Wales, Aust11.29.09

Waialua Retreat

  • L loved being right on the North Shore Beach. Wonderfully, the late morning of our departure day, the turtles swam up to us and stayed for many hours. They were a delight to see and as long as we did not try to touch them, they stayed nearby. Being on the North Shore took us away from all the hustle of a busy city life in Honolulu, but it was not far away if one desires that life. We did go to Diamond Head and ventured to the top. Wonder view of that area and watched some local outriggers competing. Actually the best shrimp to eat was gotten at the small shrimp Bus/RV's on the roadsides. Very tasty and good amount. The best picture we took was of the sunset and the full moon over our beach! Best tip is to just relax and enjoy the scenery and people!

, Havre de Grace, Maryland10.12.09

Lanikai Beach Bungalow - 4BR Home + Private Pool

  • great stay. the dishes were not very clean when we got there, however.

, San Mateo, CA9.15.09

Waialua Retreat

  • Dear Hawaiian Beach Rentals, Our party enjoyed our stay at the Waialua Retreat very much. The beach was wonderful and the remoteness from Waikiki was a relief. We would recommend this to anyone interested in getting away and not having to deal with the big city of Honolulu. Thank you and Mahalo, Ralph Hamilton

, Stevensville, MD2.21.09

Lanikai Beach Bungalow - 4BR Home + Private Pool

  • We loved the view. The location was great espeically since we had small kids. It was just a very relaxing place to stay. Had a great time!!

, Fairfax Station, Virginia10.5.08

Waialua Retreat

  • Great house and super location. All the beach toys anyone could want. One of our best family vacations. We cannot wait until we can go back.

, Woodland Hills, California8.11.08

Waialua Retreat

  • Great house, location, and neighborhood. The beach access is very cool and we had the beach virtually to ourselves the entire stay. We will return and highly recommend it to all. Oh and if you like swimming with sea-turtles this house comes with a whole host of them within 10 feet of the beach.

, Spokane Valley, Wa6.24.08

Hale Maluhia at Lanikai Beach

  • This is the 2nd time that we have stayed at Hale Maluhia and we are already talking about renting for a third time. This house is perfection. Its beauty, location and layout are perfect for family or friends on a vacation getaway. We consider this our Hawaiian home away from home!

4.7.08

Lanikai Beach Bungalow - 4BR Home + Private Pool

  • What a beautiful place - our family had a wonderful stay there - watching sea turtles swim just in front of the house. We got up for the sunrises every morning, swam, snorkeled, kayaked and hiked. It was a perfect vacation! We look forward to our return visit.

, Berkeley, CA4.5.08

Lanikai Beach Bungalow - 4BR Home + Private Pool

  • beautiful home... beatiful views of the ocean.... very good customer service.... no problems being in Lanikai Buzz's family picture taken with Mokulua Islands in background Lanikai is the best place to stay in all Hawaii

, Merced, CA3.31.08

Hale Maluhia at Lanikai Beach

  • The house was lovely and well appointed. The location was perfect. We would definitely rent this home again.

, New York, NY1.6.08

Makana's Place

  • The rental was absolutely beautiful and well furnished. The only reason I rated it a 4 out of 5 is because the rental does not have a stove which for us was a much during the holiday season. The owner was gracious enough to allow us to use hers.

, Honolulu, HI1.1.08

Lanikai Beach Bungalow - 4BR Home + Private Pool

  • It took me back to the days when I was growing up in Lanikai. It hasn't changed that much, which is the best part. There still is a paradise in Hawaii. We had a wonderful e.xcperioence, and plan to return again.

, Guerneville, California10.12.07

Makana's Place

  • Nice owner and clean environment. The owner bought a nice fruit basket as a welcome gift. The restaurant recommendations in the tour aid book are excellent. The room is equipment with everything you need should you need to cook or bar-b-que. It is not far from nice beaches!

, Ellicott City, MD9.23.07

Makana's Place

  • It was very clean property and well mainteined. We had a good trip thanks to our host.

, Tokyo, JAPAN9.10.07

Lanikai Beach Bungalow - 4BR Home + Private Pool

  • As you can see from the photos, the house is right up against beautiful Lanikai beach. We saw sea turtles swimming along the beach almost everyday - right from the back yard of the house! A little night fishing from the back yard rewarded us with a nice size snapper which ended up on the barbeque grill the next evening. The house is very well equipped. All you need to bring is your clothes and groceries. Kia'aina, the owner of the property, lives just across the street and was very helpful. When we called him to make a few small repairs (change light bulb, etc.) he was right on it. The Welcome Basket filled with local treats like Macademia Nut Chocolate and Kona Coffee was also a nice addition. A few reminders about the natural environment. The house faces the eastern side of the island - the windward side. Wind from the ocean is fairly strong and very consistent (it never stopped, day or night, while we were there - excellent for windsurfers.) Noise from the wind, waves (only a few yards away from the master bedroom), and the sun light from the rising sun makes for very early mornings everyday. If you're planning on sleeping in during your vacation, choose a bedroom away from the ocean. The beach is beautiful (voted best beach in the Nation!). However, always remember you are dealing with nature. Our son got stung by a Protuguese Man-of-War (a type of jelly-fish). This is VERY painfull! (I've been stung before.) The pain will go away after an hour or two, but the scare all along his arm will take a little longer to go away. (Something to show-off to his friends when he goes back to school!)

, Pleasanton, California8.22.07

Waialua Retreat

  • We have stayed in many houses on Oahu and Kauai and this is by far the best equipped. What a lovely place! We enjoyed the many turtles coming every day to eat right outside - and we were amazed at how close to shore they were. The beach is long and empty! Foodland was the best bet for groceries and Waialua Bakery has cookies to die for. Across the main street from there is a fabulous ice cream store. A lovely, upscale dining experience can be had at 21 degrees at the Turtle Bay Resort. This is a peaceful and quiet place to unwind and to enjoy the 'regular' life of the island.

, Mission Viejo, CA8.22.07

Lanikai Beach Bungalow - 4BR Home + Private Pool

  • My family enjoyed a once-in-a-lifetime vacation thanks in large part to the Lanikai Beach Bungalow. Hawaiian Beach Rentals and the property manager for this rental were professional, attentive and very easy to work with. I am an experienced traveler and have dealt with many hassles in the past. There were no surprises or hurdles in this trip. We came to Kailua/Lanikai for a local friend's wedding and enjoyed being in a genuine Hawaiian town that offered many opportunities for activities, relaxing and experiencing a slower-pace to life. Lanikai is a fabulous beach and the Lanikai Beach Bungalow was a perfect pick. We loved being right on the water, seeing sea turtles, enjoying gorgeous sun rises and opening up the sliding glass walls to let in the ocean breeze. The house has a wonderful classic Hawaiian charm but is also very comfortable for 6 people. The location is unbeatable - I was concerned about the tide coming in and not having any beach directly in front of the house but it was actually an advantage. We could walk on the beach to get to the wider areas of the beach most of the time and not being on the main part of the beach meant we enjoyed privacy. Don't hassle with packing straw beach mats as there are several at the unit. If you come to Kailua/Lanikai, definitely check out the Lanikai Juice company, Cinnamon's restaurant for the carrot pancakes and body surfing on Kailua beach. The 2.5 mil loop around Lanikai makes for a great jogging route. If I had it to do all over again, I would definitely stay for 2 weeks instead of just 1!! Book your trip to the Lanikai Beach Bungalow without hesitating.

, Broomfield, CO8.21.07

101 - 200 of 239

Oahu vacation reviews