201 - 239 of 239

Oahu vacation reviews

Makana's Place

  • The unit we rented was cozy, and super clean, which was extremely appreciated. Even though I expected to be only 3 blocks from the beach, per the information received through my initial booking, the unit was definitely worth the distance. Thank you so much. Debbie

, Huntington Beach, CA7.23.07

Waialua Retreat

  • The home has a great location and all the "beach toys" anyone would need. It was wonderful to wake up to the surf every morning. We enjoyed the food at Cholos in Halewia and enjoyed exploring the town. We used Oahu Revealed for our tour guide. It is a great book.

, Castle Rock, Colorado7.20.07

Lanikai Beach Bungalow - 4BR Home + Private Pool

  • I would highly recommend the Beach Bungalow. The location was awesome. The pictures don't do it justice. The ocean is steps away. The house was very clean and comfortable. The house is on the windward side of the island, so you will get wind and rain. We were there the end of June and it was a little cool to sit outside on the back deck in the evening. The house has separate AC units in the bedrooms, but they are not in the best location (noisy). I would recommend that the house be stocked with portable fans. There are ceiling fans in the rooms, but unless you had the sliding doors open the family room was a bit stuffy. I loved that the house was in a neighborhood, it really made us feel like we were living like the locals. This is not a touristy area. The locals were very friendly and helpful. I would get recommendations for restaurants, beaches and points of interest from the locals. There are not many good restaurants in Kailua, locals talk about Buzz's, but we were not impressed. Best recommendation is to stop at Costco when you leave airport and stock up on food, Safeway grocery store has a full bakery and deli. Prices seem to be 20% more than mainland. We BBQ'ed alot and enjoyed the outdoors. We absolutely enjoyed our stay. There were six of us. Our three daughters (11-17), one boy (18) and my husband and I. Plenty of room in the house and three bathrroms were helpful. The house comes with beach towels, two boogie boards, two beach chairs and umbrellas. We purchased snorkeling gear at Don Quiotis. Loved that the house had a washer and dryer. I would highly recommend the house and the area (very nice and clean). Lanikai beach is a beautiful beach. We watched turtles right off the house. If you want to swim with the turtles, we found a beach just north of Waimea Bay, not well marked, but about 4 turnouts up the road. Best diving/snorkeling was at Sharks Cove. Hanauma Bay is beautiful, but there are so many people. Very touristy. Best little town with authentic Hawaiian atmosphere is on the north shore Haleiwa. (Shaved ice, unique little shops and restaurants). Don't miss the Shrimp trucks on the way to north shore. The trucks don't seem very appealing to eat off of, but the food was good and it was fun to do it. Best bet is to get a book called Ohau Revealed (can be found at Barnes & Noble, etc.) this guy's perspective is not only amusing but pretty accurate. We called it the "Bible" and took it everywhere with us. It has maps and every point of interest imaginable. I would recommend having a daily itenary. Hit all the points of interest in each area, then you can always go back to your favorites if you have time. Hope your trip will be as enjoyable as ours.

, El Cajon, CA7.5.07

Lanikai Beach Bungalow - 4BR Home + Private Pool

  • We truly enjoyed our stay at the Lanikai Beach Bungalow. The view is just perfect. Having lived in Lanikai before, it is the ideal place to vacation. Kua Aina sandwich shop on the North Shore is a must, they DO have the best burgers on the island. This trip we took the Explorers Tour of the Mighty MO and that was extremely educational and was great for the kids to take in a history lesson. We hiked to the top of Diamond Head, as well as to the "Pill Boxes" in Lanikia. Both offer awesome views of the island. We had breakfast at the house every morning, slicing up fresh pinapple and other fruits...then we would plan our day. We tried to do the "busy" or "tourist" thngs at the beginning of our stay and tended to relax around the house the last couple days, that worked out great and made the trip end on a relaxing note. Ovarall, we loved the beach bungalow and would definitely stay here on our next trip.

, Raleigh, NC6.18.07

Waialua Retreat

  • This was all we dreamed it would be. This was a wonderful vacation setting the home is gorgeous and it is set up with everything you'll need in a home away from home in paradise. The location was wonderful it was easy to get around with lots to do from this location. The town of Haleiwa was awesome the residents were gracious and friendly, the food was wonderful (Jameson's By the Sea and Haleiwa Joe's, the shaved ice and pizza), eating in was just as wonderful, breakfast and coffee on the Lanai, BBQ & drinks on the Lanai. And the beach, OH the beach! There was everything we needed (even beach towels) to enjoy the beach and we did and we did and Ok enough. You won't be disappointed if you choose Waialua Retreat for your Hawaii vacation.

, Green River, WY6.14.07

Lanikai Beach Bungalow - 4BR Home + Private Pool

  • What I liked best about the unit I rented was: the location The customer service I received was: excellent My advice to someone else staying at this unit would be: bring suntan lotion

, Peoria, AZ5.19.07

Lanikai Beach Bungalow - 4BR Home + Private Pool

  • We truly enjoyed our stay at your bungalow. We loved waking up to watch all the kitesurfers and kayakers, not to mention the hona. We couldn't have asked for a better location! The house was so comfortable, we didn't want to leave. Thanks for everything.

, New York, NY4.17.07

Waialua Retreat

  • An awesome place. VERY roomy, open plan design. Beach is very private. Close to all the shops and stores in Haliewa town. Great deck!! A/C's, fans etc. Everything you need is included. My wife got a kick out of the little big things...like the automatic garbage can. Can't think of a bad thing to say about the place except that it will make you not want to leave.. Jim

, Crescent Valley, BC (Canada)3.28.07

Makana's Place

  • Great place, very comfortable, clean, nicely decorated, good location.

, Long Beach, CA12.13.06

Kahala Estate Cottage - 2BR Home

  • We had a wonderful time - what a nice property in a great location.

, Coto de Caza, CA12.12.06

Kahala Estate Cottage - 2BR Home

  • Dear Hosts, we enjoyed staying in your beautiful guest house. The setting of your home is outstanding. For next time rental it would be helpful, to have some glass or porcelain bowls for serving meals, also a blender and mixer for cooking. Best regards Gabriele, Judith and Thomas

, Munich, Bavaria11.30.06

Lanikai Beach Bungalow - 4BR Home + Private Pool

  • Lanaikai Beach Bungalow was a perfect ocean getaway for my young adult family. We loved the floorplan of the house and the proximity to the ocean.

, San Antonio, TX11.27.06

Waialua Retreat

  • Our stay at Waialua Retreat was the best. The house had everything for your vacation enjoyment. If we would return to Hawaii, our group would stay at Waialua Retreat. A rental home is the way to go. No hotel for us ! ! Thank you all....Sept 17 thru Sept 27, 2006

, Warrington, PA9.28.06

Lanikai Beach Bungalow - 4BR Home + Private Pool

  • For our family reunion, the house was perfect! We loved the indoor-outdoor living and the "old Hawaii" feel with big windows on the ocean and big yard on the leeward side of the house. We spent a lot of time on the leeward lanai. One recommendation is that you wash out the trash containers that go out to the street -- stinky now. We will be back, and have already sent your phone number for this house out to several friends. Mahalo and A hui hou!

, Kailua, HI9.27.06

Hale Maluhia at Lanikai Beach

  • The house was more than we imagined or than the pictures show. It was very well appointed and decorated. To the owner: Thank you so very much for letting us share in your piece of paradise.

, Lake Zurich, IL9.27.06

Makana's Place

  • We were extremely surprized at the grandeur of the place. The pictures on the email do not do justice to the place. We really felt as if we were in our own house with no interference from the landlords. The great part was the availability of towels etc. There was no view of course but it also gave us a feeling of living like an Hawiain Thanks again.

, Kitchener, Ontario8.28.06

Lanikai Beach Bungalow - 4BR Home + Private Pool

  • Being from FL I am used to A/C through out the house, this was the only draw back, even with all the screen doors open, it was abit muggy even with the breeze. The house is in a beautiful location, very quiet... not for those who would like Waikiki! We will be back!

, Tampa, FL8.16.06

Waialua Retreat

  • Our second visit to this wonderful retreat and it was just as fabulous as the first time, if not better! All the comforts of home, everything you need for the beach--just perfect! Great food, fun, weather, we'll definitely be back. Mahalo!

, La Verne, CA8.3.06

Hale Maluhia at Lanikai Beach

  • Superb, relaxing, convenient location! We will come back!! Aloha, Keith and Sushe'

, Glendale, AZ7.27.06

Waialua Retreat

  • WONDERFUL!!!! This home was perfect for a family vacation - - we had everything we needed. The master bedroom had the best views of all - - -one side was mountains and the other was ocean. What more could you ask for. Thank you so much.

, Corrales, New Mexico7.24.06

Makana's Place

  • Very comfortable, quiet and easy to find. Conveniently close to Honolulu. Just a short 20 minute ride over the Pali Hwy. The Kauliua area beaches are quite beautiful. We live on Kauai and would very much like to rent Makana's Place again for our Oahu excursions.

, Kilauea, Hawaii7.17.06

Makana's Place

  • This is a very delightful place to stay as it is very clean, well decorated and spacious. We enjoyed our stay very much and would definitely come back again.

, Atchison, KS6.28.06

Lanikai Beach Bungalow - 4BR Home + Private Pool

  • very nice clean an relaxing place. i can definitely recommend it.

, New York, NY6.27.06

Waialua Retreat

  • the house was perfect, the setting outstanding and the town was very quaint. a great relaxing vacation for the whole family

, Reno, Nevada6.20.06

Makana's Place

  • Enjoyed the stay. The unit was well appointed and comfortable. The private yard was enjoyed.

, Castro Valley, CA5.8.06

Waialua Retreat

  • Location was beautiful..doesn't get any better. Situated in a residential area and definitely felt like a local!

, Vallejo, Ca4.26.06

Makana's Place

  • Makana's place was even better than we had expected. It was very clean, and beautifully decorated, with taste and charm. We have and will recommend it to all our friends and we miss it already. thanks for a great stay.

, Canmore, Alberta4.22.06

Lanikai Beach Bungalow - 4BR Home + Private Pool

  • It was a wonderful place to spend a week in paradise, We would love to come back every year.

, Sacramento, CA2.22.06

Hale Maluhia at Lanikai Beach

  • A very generous place.. well-maintained, with furnishings and equipment that made it seem more than a rental-- more like a complete home. The owners obviously love this place, and love sharing it with others. Convenient to the beach, close to Kailua, and very, very relaxing.

, Portland, OR2.22.06

Waialua Retreat

  • If you are looking for a quiet and private retreat this is the place to go. The home has gorgeous views, is spacious, well kept and immaculate. The beautiful beach is only a few steps away from the house. The owners have thought of everything you could ever need to make your stay pleasant - a fully outfitted kitchen, all types of items for beach activities, an outdoor hot tub, and even a desk top computer for those who need to stay connected. We can't wait to return!

, Santa Clara, CA1.26.06

Waialua Retreat

  • The view could not be more magnificent. The rooms had everything we could want or need. We loved the beach access, the balcony, and all the windows. The beds were very comfortable too. There is not a negative thing to say about the property - the neighborhood dogs, maybe, but not the house! Thanks, K Barber

, OKLAHOMA CITY, OK1.12.06

Waialua Retreat

  • This is the only home you will ever want to rent! It comes with all the accommodations you could possibly dream of. Great beach access, beautiful ocean views, clean! 10+++

, Litchfield Park, AZ12.22.05

Makana's Place

  • The house was clean and beautiful, and the property manager was a delight. I would love the chance to rent this house in the future.

, Albany, OR11.29.05

Waialua Retreat

  • This place made our work in Hawaii a vacation.

, Portland, Oregon11.19.05

Waialua Retreat

  • Pictures cannot possibly describe what greeted us upon our arrival to Waialua Retreat. The house was beautifully accommodating, the location to the beach (just steps!) made everyone happy, especially the kids. The serene, relaxing atmosphere was just what everyone needed. We will definitely be back next year and plan on a longer stay! Mahalo!!

, La Verne, CA8.3.05

Waialua Retreat

  • Comments have already been recorded in the house guest book...the tranquility of the house and beach front was very soothing and comforting. It removed the anxiety generated by the honolulu traffic. Looking forward to our next outing...

, Anchorage, Ala6.28.05

Waialua Retreat

  • The pictures did not do justice on the beauty of this location. Very quiet and serene location. All of the amenities more than surpassed our demand. The jacuzzi was ready upon our arrival and having a Costco nearby made it very economical to feed our group of seven. The only downside is the portable air conditioner in one room. The condensation holder is small and with the humidity, it fills up quickly. Hawaiian Beach Rentals was "top notch" handling the reservation, arrival info, and having someone available by phone when we had a question. Don't bring boogie boards, snorkel stuff or other swim goodies, it's all there for your use. Anyone booking this location will not be disappointed. A beautiful sunset, a nice glass of wine, and a beautiful lanai to watch the sea turtles swim by is as good as it gets. Mahalo

, Upland, California6.17.05

Waialua Retreat

  • Great place and great location for where we wanted to be. The barking dogs of the neighbors was a little bothersome but not too much. We thought the view, layout and the overall home was superb. We had a great time. Ed Andrews

, Petaluma, CA5.30.05

Lanikai Beach Bungalow - 4BR Home + Private Pool

  • Well equiped and comfortable home. Unbeatable view. Very comfortable bedding. Enclosed yard is excellent for kids. Two refridgerators! Direct ocean access is only possible during low-tide and then it is still a bit rocky. We did not mind the short walk to a sandy portion of beach when the tide was high. Gas grill was very nice. Enclosed garage was also a plus. Upon arrival, we read the property literature and discovered some great options/ammenities that could have been arranged ahead of time. We wish these options were made know to us during the booking. (Private Chef, Cable Modem, etc.)Over-all a very pleasant stay.

, Honolulu, HI4.16.05

201 - 239 of 239

Oahu vacation reviews